PDA

View Full Version : Scam or fraud?


Rxx
06-17-2008, 06:11 PM
I am a buyer, and the person who wants to sell to me wants to use this site as a medium of exchange.

http://www.world-payautos.com/

Do I have something to worry about here? Can anyone validate the site as real? If I were to go ahead and use this site as a "middle man" would I be safe?

Thanks everyone! :coolthumbup:

MacHeadCase
06-17-2008, 06:21 PM
Maybe one of the guys knows about this website. I sure don't. :confused:

Rxx
06-17-2008, 06:34 PM
I read more into it. And anything that wants a moneygram is risky business. I think I might pass. To bad, was a great deal too

bobtomay
06-17-2008, 07:16 PM
Worldpay is a legitimate institution.

However, this (http://www.worldpay.com/) is their web site. Browse around their web site. Notice phone #'s readily available, page load times for the site, plenty of contact links spread around.

Now visit world-payautos. Notice the load times, the lack of any contact info, except for you to provide your e-mail to them. Personally think it is a total fraud site. Wouldn't get a dime of my money.

Did a little googling - looks like they've changed their name - because that site doesn't even come up in google. You do get a site that doesn't have a hyphen in it (worldpayautos). Only it returns a server not found message. Appears to be a few sites that are trying to rip off the Worldpay name.

How does this person want the money delivered to World-payautos?
Money Order? Western Union? etc.? - total scam it looks like to me. Do not believe that site is a part of Worldpay at all.

Rxx
06-17-2008, 07:34 PM
They wanted me to email in the information on a moneygram, or fax a picture of it. The second I read this, I really steered away.

Is there anyway to report something like this?

iKitten
06-17-2008, 08:59 PM
Yeah, I looked at the site before I read bobtomay's post and my reaction was "don't use a site that has no address and phone number!"

Rxx
06-17-2008, 09:21 PM
Thats another thing I was looking for and couldnt find. A physical address.

MaDDoG
06-18-2008, 12:30 AM
wouldn't even load for me. Maybe they don't like Aussie peso's.

MacHeadCase
06-18-2008, 02:08 AM
They wanted me to email in the information on a moneygram, or fax a picture of it. The second I read this, I really steered away.

Is there anyway to report something like this?

I think you should go here, Reporting Internet Fraud (http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/Internet_Fraud.shtml).

beohad
06-23-2008, 04:59 PM
I have the same case, so I called today to worldpay.com and not to worldpayautos.com since they don't offer a way to contact them by phone.
They told me that this is a SCAM. I emailed worldpayautos.com but did not recive an answer yet. When I'll recive an answer I'll think 100 times about my next step.